Chickpea, sweet potato and spinach curry

img_20161007_053637Well if you have had a look at my instagram feed you have probably figured out that I absolutely love curry. My mother in law has found the perfect curry cookbook to re-create restaurant quality meals without any help of sauces, pastes etc.

This is a hidden gem and if you like curry as much as I do, “The curry secret” by Kris Dhillon is a definite must-have. You can check out Kris’ website here.

Today, however I will be taking the fast way out as I have run out of the base, so I will enlist the help of curry paste. I used Rogan Josh but have previously tried it with Korma and it turned out lovely. I guess whatever suits your spice level and mood will do. I had a few potatoes left from the night before, so I threw them in. The spinach I keep frozen, it is easy to portion and I always have some available.

Ingredients make 4-5:

  • 1 tin of chickpeas, drained and de-shelled
  • 4 boiled potatoes (not necessary)
  • 1 sweet potato in small cubes
  • 1 red onion
  • 5 cubes of frozen spinach
  • 3 tbs curry paste of your liking
  • 1 tin of coconut milk (I used full fat)
  • 2 tbs ginger paste
  • 1 tsp mustard seeds
  • 3 cloves of garlic
  • 2 tbs olive oil
  • 1 tbs chili flakes or to your liking
  • Basmati rice if you choose to have some

Yoghurt mint sauce:

  • 5 tbs natural yoghurt
  • 3 tbs mint sauce
  • 2 tbs lemon juice

Start with peeling the sweet potato and chop into small cubes of about 1 cm, this will reduce cooking time. Then take a pot and heat up the olive oil. When it is hot add the mustard seeds and wait until they pop to release all the lovely flavours.

Next is the curry paste & ginger, fry for a couple minutes. Add onions and sweet potato and give it a good stir. You can also turn the heat down to avoid burning the ingredients. Add about 100ml of water and cover to simmer for 10 minutes to get the sweet potato soft.

I stated de-shelled chickpeas but you don’t have to. I am used to doing this when making hummus. Some shells come off when cooking and I am just not a fan of that. With the tinned version they come off easy enough after you drained and washed them.

When the 10 minutes passed, take off the lid and add chickpeas, garlic and the left over potatoes. Now for the coconut milk. Turn the heat down low and let it simmer away for about 30 minutes. The sauce should thicken nicely and sweet potatoes should be soft, check in case you are unsure. Lastly for the frozen spinach, stir it in and make sure it is all piping hot before serving.

For the mint sauce just mix everything together and voila.

I served my dish with rice, the mint sauce and mango chutney. If you want to make it a more special meal you can also add chapattis, Naan or perhaps hot lime pickle. The beauty about cooking should be that you do whatever you like, in the end YOU and your guests or family have to enjoy it.

apane bhojan ka aanand len 🙂

Leave a Reply

