Minted Lamd Kebabs with cauliflower rice & salad

kebabsToday I wanted to share my minted lamb kebabs with you. We love lamb but actually I don’t make it as much as you’d expect. This week I bought lamb for 2 days of my weekly meal plan as I grew slightly bored from the other thing I usually cook. These Kebabs are easy to make and pack a lot of flavour. The cauliflower rice is such an easy substitute when eating on low-carb and I get it pre made in the super market as my food processor has given up on me. If you aren’t a fan of cauliflower rice then just substitute for regular rice, or perhaps brown basmati.

 

Ingredients to make 6 kebabs:

  • 500gr Lamb mince
  • 4 garlic cloves
  • 4 springs fresh mint
  • 3 tsp dried mint
  • 1 tbs mint sauce
  • Cauliflower rice
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 tbs garlic and pepper seasoning
  • 1 red onion
  • 2-3 tbs balsamic vinegar
  • 6 skewers
  • 2 tbs olive oil
  • Any lettuce and bits you have for a side salad

Start off with a big bowl and place the meat into it. I chopped the garlic really finely but you can also put it through the garlic press. Further finely chop the fresh mint leaves and add the mint sauce and dried mint. Salt and pepper to taste and I also add my garlic and pepper mix. Knead it all together and let it sit on the side whilst you prep the rest so it can start to infuse.

Cut the onion into rings and heat up you pan with the olive oil. When hot, add the onion and let it sweat for a couple minutes, then add the balsamic vinegar and give it a bit of a stir. The balsamic will caramelise he onion a bit and bring out the sweetness. After a couple minutes take out the onions and take the pan off the heat while you prep the skewers.

Divide the meat into 6 portions and roll out into ‘sausages’. Make sure that the meat is mixed properly and firm so I will stay on the skewer. Then pierce the skewer lengthwise through the meat so get your skewers.

As I use the cauliflower rice ready-made, I just have to put it in the microwave. Usually I do 2 minutes, shake up, 2 minutes shake up, 2 minutes shake and rest. Then prep the side salad with anything you fancy or have available in your fridge, there is no limit to your creativity :). I used pumpkin seed oil and balsamic for my dressing, again, do whatever tickles your fancy.

Put the pan back on medium heat and place the skewers into it. Brown on each side for a few minutes until ready. You will smell the lovely flavours the meat releases.

Serve with side sauces and condiments of your choice.

Bon Appétit!

Leave a Reply

